Automatically tracking your journey

Ensuring you can track your location accurately

To auto-track your journeys, first ensure that your device’s location service is enabled. This allows the app to access your GPS location.

On Android, go to Settings > Location, and ensure that the toggle is ‘On’.

On iPhone this is located in Settings > LOGIT-IN and ensure Location is set to ‘Always’.

Location_settings_LQ.png

The last thing to check is that location tracking has been enabled in the app (you can change this in the app’s Settings page).

On an iPhone 6 or later, you will need to ensure that the app has permission to use your 'Motion and Fitness' data. This can also be set in your phone settings as shown below.

MotionAndFitness_LQ.PNG

After doing this once, you shouldn’t have to worry about it again (unless you manually disable it at some point in the future).

 

Go for a drive

Now that the app is tracking, take it for a test drive. After you’ve completed your journey, wait 15 minutes. Then check the app to see the journey displayed in the ‘new’ list.

If your end location appears to be in the wrong place, it could be that the app needs more time to process the data that’s been sent.

New_list_LQ.png

Swiping to classify your journey

To classify your journey in the ‘new’ list, swipe left to mark it as business, or right to set it as personal. Any trips marked as personal will be ignored when the app calculates your potential expenses claim.

Swipe_to_classify_LQ.png

 

Viewing your monthly & yearly aggregates

After the LOGIT-IN app has classified your journey, it will appear in the ‘monthly’ aggregate journey list. This list shows the business mileage per month that you have completed, and the amount you could reclaim.

If you tap on a month you can then view the list of that month's categorised journeys. From this list you can then edit a journey to change its classification, or to delete it.

You can see your total business mileage for the year by accessing the 'Dashboard' screen.

 

 

Manually adding a journey

If auto-tracking is not enabled (or you want to retrospectively add a trip), it is possible to manually add your journeys. Simply tap the + symbol on the ‘new’ list to add a new business journey.

 

Auto-classifying trips

 

Regular journeys

The app will recognise when a journey is being made repeatedly (more than 5 times) – and list it in the app’s Auto-Classify list (found in Settings).

From here, you can select a journey and set it to be automatically categorised as business or personal the next time you make the same trip.

Regular_journey_flow_LQ.png

Setting your working hours

Another way to automatically classify your journeys is to set your daily working hours in the app (again found in Settings).

Tap 'Edit Working Hours', and then tap the 'Enable Working Hours' toggle to enable the feature.

 

Tap on a day, set it to be a working day, and set the desired hours. The first time saving a day’s working hours will propagate the change to the rest of the working week. Note that subsequent changes will not affect the other days.

After specifying your work hours, any non-regular journey you make outside those times will be auto-marked as personal.

You can also toggle a day to be 'Day off', which disables the feature for that day. This will mean that any non-regular journey made that at that time will need to be manually classified.

 

Add another vehicle

Using the car registration search

Once registered, you have the option of adding additional vehicles to your account. Simply go to the Vehicles section in Settings and tap the ‘add vehicle’ button.

You have the option to auto-search the DVLA database with the vehicle’s registration number. Once the app returns its result, just check and confirm.

Add_vehicle_flow_LQ.png

Manually adding your vehicle

You can also choose to add your vehicle details manually.

Add_vehicle_manual_flow_LQ.png

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful